N.J. law prohibits snow on the go
Winter is right around the corner, and New Jersey residents are officially on notice that, when the snow begins to fall, they had better be ready to remove it from their cars as well as their driveways. An amended law goes into effect on Oct. 20 requiring that all ice and snow be removed from a vehicle before traveling on the state’s roadways. Failure to do so can result in a citation and fine.
Before the change in the state law, motorists could only be cited if property damage or injuries occurred as a result of failing to remove ice and snow from their vehicles, according to New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety Director Pam Fischer. Drivers now will be required to make all reasonable efforts to remove accumulated snow and ice from all exposed surfaces before operating the vehicle. “Snow and ice left on a vehicle, in particular on the hood, windows and roof, can become a deadly projectile, creating a hazard for everyone on the road,” Fischer said in a statement. “The few moments it takes to clear ice and snow from your vehicle could prevent a crash or save a life.”
Fines for violating the new law range from $25 to $75, but offenders will not lose motor vehicle points. If failure to remove ice and snow results in injury or property damage, private motorists face fines ranging from $200 to $1,000, while commercial motor vehicle drivers face fines ranging from $500 to $1,500, for each offense.
Read more about New Jersey’s new snow law and tips for winter driving.